Florida’s House Bill (HB) 21, contains several changes to Florida’s opioid law that impact physician’s and the way they dispense opioids. Thus, it’s important for physicians to become educated with these new procedures.
Beginning July 1st, 2018 opioid providers must consult Florida’s Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) before handing out controlled substances to patients. Additionally, they must report any opioids dispensed in the PDMP by the next business day. This is the result of Florida’s devastating opioid epidemic and those working toward stopping this crisis.
Below are the new dispensing requirements:
Controlled substance prescribers must first verify a patient’s identity and consult the PDMP for said patients controlled substance administering history before giving them any controlled substances. More specifically, the dispenser, prescriber, or designee of a prescriber or dispenser must consult the system to view their patient’s controlled substance dispensing history before prescribing or dispensing any controlled substance for those 16 years and older. For those failing to comply will result in a non-disciplinary citation for the first offense, and disciplinary action under F.S. section 456.073 for each additional offense.
HB 21 eliminates prior exemptions from reporting under the statute, specific exceptions for health care practitioner when administering controlled substances directly to patients if the amount is adequate to treat the patient during their treatment session and a pharmacist or dispensing practitioner when dispensing one-time, 72-hour emergency resupply of a controlled substance to a patient.
The dispenser must record the opioids dispensed in the PDMP in situations that were previously exempt under said statute.
In Florida, the following information must be reported in the PDMP by the dispenser about any controlled substance prescribed to the patient no later than the close of the next business day unless the department approves an extension/exemption.
The name of prescribing practitioners, practitioner’s federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration number, practitioner’s National Provider Identification and all other appropriate identifiers, including the date of prescription, must be included in the report.
Date the prescription is filled and the payment method used. For example, cash, insurance coverage or Medicaid payments. However, this does not authorize the department to store/include individual credit card numbers or other account information.
Name, address, phone number and birthday for the person receiving the prescription.
Name, national drug code, quantity, and strength of opioids dispensed.
The entire name, federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration number, State of Florida Department of Health issued pharmacy permit number and the address where the controlled substance came. By anyone other than a pharmacist, the practitioner’s full name and address, their federal Drug Enforcement Administration registration number, and State of Florida Department of Health issued license number and National Provider Identification.
If the drug is an initial prescription or a refill and the number of those refills ordered.
Name of person picking up the prescription and type and issuer of the id provided.
Other significant identifying information as determined by the department rule.
Any dispensing or prescribing provider that fails to record the dispensing of controlled substances under this new controlled substance law is committing a misdemeanor. HB21 amends other parts of Florida law to increase regulations around prescribing and dispensing of controlled substances- not mentioned here. So it is vital for those with the special permission to prescribe controlled substances to become educated.